Passeig de Lluís Companys

Sculptors: Eduard B. Alentorn, Rafael Atché, Miquel Blay, Josep Campeny and Santamaria, Pedro Carbonell, Manuel Fuxà, Josep Llimona, Josep Montserrat, Francisco Labrador, Torquat Tasso, Agapito Vallmitjana and Abarca, Agapito Vallmitjana and Barbany, Venanci Vallmitjana and Barbany Anselm Nogués, Josep Soler Forcada, Josep Pagès Huerta, Josep Maria Barnadas and Masters, and Jose Rios
Architects: Josep Domènech i Estapà and Enric Sagnier i Villavecchia
Materials: Stone from Montjuïc
Inauguration: June 11, 1908

The four facades were decorated with sculptures and reliefs, friezes and shields, and other sculptural ornaments. Forging a large weathervanes crowned the four towers of the angles.

The choice of the reliefs commissioned a committee which comprised politicians of the Liberal Party Jose Maria Milan, Rafael Bosch and Josep Griera, the three men trusted Manuel Planas and Casals, a leading member of the board of works Palau and decisive figure in the Barcelona politics of the time. The selection of sculptures commissioned directly personalities Planas and Manuel Casals, who delegated work Hermenegildo José Monfredi also his party, lawyer, lover of art and history. Surely it was he who, in both cases, did all the work of selection of scenes and characters.

  • S. Pere, S. Caterina i La Ribera
  • Pg. de Lluís Companys, 12-18


logo footer

ban promo 1 en

Members Zone